on writing

10 NaNocessities: A Survival Guide

 

Hello, readers & Wrimos!

Welcome to the creative lair. NaNo-prep underway! img_9745-2img_9741-2img_9584-2img_9742-2

Flip flops, UV rays, palms, sunbrellas…perfect time of year for NaNoWriMo, amIright?! Actually, it’s confusing. Last time I did this, I was freezing in three layers of socks.

10 NaNocessities for Surviving the Month

So living in Asia and participating in NaNoWriMo… are the essentials any different? I have had to get a tad inventive being overseas for the first time, but maybe you have some equivalents where you are in the world!

img_9739

…on the other hand, these are rather Western options.

Try something everyday that scares you.

Well, here, that’s eating.

Some days, I’m adventurous, but other times, I just want something that I know won’t be punishment for my American taste buds. When I’m writing, for instance, candy I know vs. candy I don’t is crucial to whether or not I will stay on task.

img_9733

The financial pit of despair

The very FIRST thing I grabbed…

img_9736

  1. Electrolyte powder

… because dehydration is a thing here, and the sweating won’t stop for anyone, even if you have all the fans you own blowing on you (and blowing away your notes) while you write.

img_9727

2. Cookies

What is defined as “dessert” here is just kinda sad sometimes. But fortunately, there are THESE. They taste like Pop-tarts and cost only about 10 cents a package. I plan to pace myself, say, about 200 words before I can have just one. Cookie, not package.

img_9718

3. Tea

I don’t know about you, but it’s hard to write when I don’t have something hot to drink right next to me. Here’s my favorite British tea (can I get an amen for Irish breakfast?!!). And then there’s that sour green tea for when I’m not allowed to have any more caffeine. Rue the day.

img_9728

4. Instant coffee

I know. An utter abomination. BUT somedays, it’s just too hot to boil water. And/or I’m too lazy to boil water and wait and clean the French press and get the coffee and pour it in and wait and … just no.

img_9729

img_9724

5. Candy Rewards

Gummies, chocolate, this half a bag of candy corn that my Mom mailed me (it never stood a chance). If you’re consistent–or have someone hide the candy until you’ve earned it–this can really motivate you through a word sprint.

img_9716

6. More instant coffee

img_9725

7. Peppermint-y stuff

Nothing like forgetting to brush your teeth in the middle of a creative frenzy.

img_9726

8. Candles

These may be Buddhist altar sticks. It’s a fair bet. But I wanted more non-smelly candles for ambience. Looooove candles when I write.

9. Headphones

Try creating iTunes playlists or Noisli for ambient sound, if music distracts you. But I am a HUGE fan of headphones for tuning out distractions. We have some loud birds here. And wall geckos.

10. Power cord

….because we’ve all been somewhere and realized, MY COMPUTER IS ABOUT TO DIE. Or worse, it’s died on you? And you didn’t save your draft?

You have my condolences, poor friend.

img_9721

GREEN MANGO MY FAVORITE …snacks for myself today. To write this blog post. Food motivation is key, people.

img_9719

What is Jet even doing?

 

 

Bye ’til next time. Happy pre-writing!

Standard

Join the Convo

