on writing

excuse&exercise

I am a failure at these minute creations…and I’m finding now that every ounce of my creativity is being swallowed by the gallon-sized mouth of my creative writing thesis. Any ideas I’m having, I’m storing away in a little notebook, and you can’t have them! Not until I’m finished with them. But I’ve a fun exercise for you if you should like to try…

Select one of these epigraphs:

sylvia1) Kiss me and you will see how important I am. ~Sylvia Plath

2) All water has a perfect memory and is forever trying to get back to where it was. ~ Toni Morrison

toni

 

flannery3) Conviction without experience makes for harshness. ~Flannery O’Connor

 

4) I’m the most terrific liar you ever saw in your life. ~J. D. Salinger

jdsalinger
Pick a color, any color.

Choose a name brand or icon.

And pick a season.

Now, basing your work off of the epigraph, write a poem or prose piece (or prose-poem!) while seeking to incorporate the color, brand, and season. Feel free to think in a metaphor before you begin: will my work shape itself like a walk or a series of steps in a how-to? or a dive into a swimming pool or as if you were viewing 3-D snapshots through your old view-master?

When you finish, do share! Whether on your own blog or with me. I could use some inspiration here.

Standard

Join the Convo

